It is important to know that Florida Workers Compensation Insurance is written with no real limits listed in the policy, otherwise known as ‘Statutory Limits’
There are separate parts of workers comp policies known as Employer Liability that is written with minimum limits set with $500,000 disease policy limit, $100,000 disease each employee, and $100,000 each accident.
Employer liability is only for rare occurrences where the workers compensation statutes may not apply directly and this coverage is required.
Workers Comp requirements in the state of FL
It is important to know that in the state of FL, you do not have to have this coverage until you have more than three employees. This applies to all Florida industries except for construction.
Construction Business Workers Comp
It is important to know that in the state of Florida in any construction business, it is required to purchase workers comp insurance with the first employee you hire. Many companies feel they are able to avoid this by performing work with a 1099. In most cases these individuals are still considered “statutory employees”. In simple terms, this means that according to the state, they are still employees.
It is also important to know that in Florida you are required to carry workers compensation insurance coverage if the business has 4 or more employees. This is for non-construction businesses.
How do I attain a workers comp insurance quote?
In order to attain an insurance quote it largely depends on the type of business your in. The best way to to receive a complete and competitive workers comp quote is to contact one of our independent insurance representatives as they will be able to provide you with full business analysis and shop between companies to find you the best rate.